… some of the best micropoetry from Twitter, kept alive in jars…

#LostFeatherPoetClub

On February 1st, 2014, Debbie Strange (@Debbie_Strange) had the wonderful idea to use the Twitter prompt #LostFeatherPoetClub. It was a resounding success with over a hundred Twitter poets participating, producing many excellent poems – so many, in fact, that I thought I should put some of the best here in jars for safekeeping. Kudos and thank you to all the poets who participated in the #LostFeatherPoetClub. You are amazing, as always. Here are some of the best…

~

listeningdeeplyDEBBIESTRANGE

listening deeply
to the poetry of birds
I become a feather

@Debbie_Strange

~

a feather falls
the bluebird cries
forever lost
in a haystack of blue skies

@beezknez

~

I won’t say “I can’t” no instead say “I can”
I can- I can- I can
Fly like a Pelican can

@robbiepoet

~

silently
we wend the trees
our paths never to meet
a black feather falls
our child, who was never to be

@ravenflew

~

i sat all snuggled in my nest
she nodded and i guess i knew
upon the edge i took a breath
i was brave but i just flew

@littlewing188

~

lostyouthenfoundyouDIANALEE

lost you
then found you
right where i left you
writing poems to trees

@Diana605

~

ready to fly
away dreaming
I sneeze
myself awake on
this old
feather pillow

@AsSlimAsImBeing

~

talisman
that indigo feather
in my pocket

@morganabag

~

Supportive friends
the wind
in her feathers
as the cage door
opens

@greenlightlady

~

preeningforspringDEMLIPS

Preening for spring
gift from a lover
Blue Jay

@demlips

~

a gentle fluttering of wings
the stone angel
a white feather floats down

@gennepher

~

A moon made of feathers,
the fuzzy tipped edges
peeking from the cup
of a twig-crested
star speckled nest

@BlueHaiku2

~

Standing at his grave
a striped feather
floats to her feet
30 years after
they watched a baby Blue Jay ‘s flight

@Heidi_Ayala

~

a crow’s feather
in the strawberry patch
sickle moon

@cirrusdream

~

treefeathersJOANIE

song birds
perched
on frozen
tree feathers

@jrobertswi

~

drifting
from gray to gray to gray
daylight
and a mourning dove’s
feather

@everettpoetry

~

Out
on the pond —
I witness
countless
waterfowl
feathers
bobbing
like downy
boats —
wind at
the rudder

@TylerPedersen83

~

but for the feathers
hanging from her ears
stillness

@DreamsOfTaos

~

without wing
a feather in my hair
takes flight
whoever might wonder
if i disappeared

@bigmax722

~

summer afternoon —
a redtailed hawk
drops
a pigeon-down billfold
at the lost-and-found

@Ear2Earf

~

ivory billed woodpecker
only seen
napping on the deck

@garydawg

~

Lovely dove in a cage
His feathers follow me
Around the house

@ednaciurleo234

~

turkeyonthefridgeKAT

Turkey
On the fridge door
The size of her hand

@SongsOfKat

~

pigeon or angel
I keep the feather
anyways

@CoyoteSings

~

I bound my feathers
in a gold ring, and found
love and flight are one

@tweetheart4711

~

How long
before you realize
that I am not
to be dusted off your clothes
but for your wing
to take flight?

@DraupadiCaesar

~

Language of the birds,
nine hundred words for feather
All of them are true

@BarnestormJohn

~

feathered light
dawn comes flying
from minute to minute
fluttering rays
scattering night

@plantingtheoar

~

feeling alive–
chickadees swooping
and then a tanager

@mariannpaul

~

Unfolding of wings
majestically taking off
blue heron soaring

@Jannagae

~

seagull feather floats
in to shore and out again
tidal pendulum

@hermitcrab65

~

Tiny sparrow
perched above the sidewalk
A street musician

@ArtandThoughts

~

mates for life
enmeshed souls
thereafter

@MSeeseTweets

~

alongside the creek
so many stages
of undress–
the duck that taught me
to shed my old feathers
to draw the skies

@alotus_poetry

~

Comments are closed.